Read-a-Likes, reader's advisory

Read-a-Likes: Louise Penny

If you like Louise Penny’s thoughtful, intricate mysteries featuring Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, try these authors:

Ann Cleeves
Colin Cotterill
Deborah Crombie
Tana French
Elizabeth George
Elly Griffiths
Donna Leon
Anne Perry
Ruth Rendell
Peter Robinson
Charles Todd
Jacqueline Winspear

Read A Like Penny

Read-a-Likes, reader's advisory

Read-a-Likes: Agatha Christie

If you love the grand dame of mystery, and want more whodunits with a cozy feel and clever plots, try these authors:

Margery Allingham
M.C. Beaton
Lilian Jackson Braun
Carola Dunn
Dorothy Gilman
Jane Haddam
Carolyn Hart
P.D. James
Jane Langton
Charlotte MacLeod
Ngaio Marsh
Ellis Peters
Ruth Rendell
Dorothy L. Sayers

Read A Like Christie

Read-a-Likes, reader's advisory

Read-a-Likes: Dan Brown

If you like Dan Brown’s fast-paced and suspenseful thrillers, often involving conspiracies, the church and art, try these authors:

Steve Berry
Alan Jacobson
Raymond Khoury
Katherine Neville
Matthew Pearl
Iain Pears
Arturo Perez-Reverte
Douglas Preston
Matthew Reilly
James Rollins
Daniel Silva

Read A Like Dan Brown

Book Club, RA Programs, Read-a-Likes, reader's advisory

After Dinner Mints

Just Desserts Discussion Group talks about
Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

This month’s fiction book is Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger. Mr. Krueger is an American author and crime writer. He is also the author of the Cork O’Connor series of thirteen books. All of his novels are set in Minnesota. William knew that he wanted to be a writer back in the third grade. He wakes up every morning at 5:30 and goes to a nearby cafe’. At the cafe’, he drinks coffee in “his” booth while writing long-hand in wire bound notebooks.

Our story takes place in 1961 in the small town of New Bremen, Minnesota. Our narrator, thirteen year old Frank Drum tells us the story of how in one summer the town experiences an accidental death, a natural death, a suicide, and a murder. This one summer is engraved in Frank’s mind because four deaths in one summer is unheard of for this small town. The young girl that was murdered is Frank’s eighteen year old sister, Ariel, who was heading to college in the fall.

We follow the murder investigation through Frank’s eyes. Frank also has a younger brother, eleven year old, Jake, who has stuttered his whole life. These two young boys are brothers and very best friends.

They adore their sister and want someone brought to justice for her death.

It is also a story about grief. How grief can change an entire family and even an entire town for that matter! For many families, the death of a child tears them apart forever. Why do bad things happen to good people? How could this happen and who is to blame?

We meet many of the townspeople and the author gives us a few “red herrings” as we discover a murderer. William Kent Krueger is a great writer! Ordinary Grace is his first stand-alone novel.

I would also like to thank the Just Desserts book club for a great discussion and 100% attendance by the whole group! I am so thankful for each and every one of you! See you in January for Jodi Picoult’s Small Great Things!

Ordinary Grace

 

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: J.R. Ward

If you like J.R. Ward’s paranormal romances with an irresistible combination of passion and adrenaline-fueled danger, try these authors:

Lara Adrian
Patricia Briggs
Kresley Cole
Christina Dodd
Christine Feehan
Jacquelyn Frank
Jeaniene Frost
Laurell K. Hamilton
Sherrilyn Kenyon
Pamela Palmer
Lynsay Sands
Gena Showalter
Nalini Singh

read-a-like-ward

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Brad Thor

If you like Brad Thor’s complex thrillers full of politics and international intrigue, try these authors:

Glenn Beck
Ted Bell
Alex Berenson
Andrew Britton
Ben Coes
Vince Flynn
Mark Greaney
Brian Haig
James Wesley Rawles
Brad Taylor

read-a-like-thor

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Danielle Steel

If you like Danielle Steel’s heartwarming, fast-paced romantic tales with strong protagonists, try these authors:

Barbara Taylor Bradford
Diane Chamberlain
Jackie Collins
Barbara Delinsky
Eileen Goudge
Fern Michaels
Belva Plain
Luanne Rice
Nora Roberts
LaVyrle Spencer
Nancy Thayer

read-a-like-steel

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Nicholas Sparks

If you like Nicholas Sparks’ poignant, easy-to-read prose with a romantic tone, try these authors:

Richard Paul Evans
Connie May Fowler
Emily Grayson
J. Lynne Hinton
Catherine Ryan Hyde
Karen Kingsbury
K.C. McKinnon
James Michael Pratt
Jeanne Ray
Jeffery Stepakoff
Robert James Waller

read-a-like-sparks

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: John Sandford

If you like John Sandford’s consistent delivery of riveting characters and intense, richly-layered thrillers, try these authors:

Raymond Benson
James Lee Burke
Michael Connelly
Jeffery Deaver
John Dunning
Hugh Holton
John Katzenbach
Owen Laukkanen
David L. Lindsey
James Patterson

Read A Like Sandford.jpg

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Nora Roberts

If you like Nora Roberts’ satisfying genre-crossing romantic stories featuring passionate, resourceful heroines and strong, empathetic heroes, try these authors:

Suzanne Brockmann
Sandra Brown
Stella Cameron
Catherine Coulter
Julie Garwood
Linda Howard
Jayne Ann Krentz
Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Elizabeth Lowell
Karen Robards
Jill Shalvis

read-a-like-roberts