Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Tom Clancy

If you like the well-researched, fast paced tales of military adventure from the father of the techno-thriller, give these authors a try:

Larry Bond
Dale Brown
Stephen Coonts
Vince Flynn
Frederick Forsyth
W.E.B. Griffin
David Hagberg
Brad Meltzer
R.J. Pineiro
David Poyer
Patrick Robinson
Brad Thor

read-a-like-clancy

Book Club

The After Party – Books and Bagels and Morning Book Break – Sept. 2016

untitled

Books and Bagels and Morning Book Break Book Discussions on The Nightingale

Rating: Several members of Books and Bagels gave the book at 3.5, while most members rated the book between a 4.0 and 4.5.  The book received three 5.0s from the three men in the group.

In Morning Book Break, this book was much beloved by the members who attended. The book received between a 4.0 and 5.0 with the exception of receiving one 3.5.

Review: Overall in Books and Bagels, the members felt Kristin Hannah crafted a compelling story and the main characters were well-developed. Many in the group had not previously read Kristin Hannah’s books and plan in the future to read some of her other works. Kristin Hannah states that her personal favorites of her own work are: The Nightingale, Winter Garden, Homefront, and Firefly Lane.

In Morning Book Break, members were thrilled that this book was selected to discuss. The members loved the richly developed main characters.

Discussion Points – Morning Book Break:
*Dilemmas faced by the main characters.
*Narrative structure and narrator selected.
*Emotional connection to the story.
*Previously read novels set during this time period. One member preferred Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky.

Discussion Points – Books and Bagels
*Several members felt the story was compelling, but the quality of writing was deficient.
*Due to the epic nature of the story, some members felt the plausibility of main characters lacking.
*Many members shared anecdotes about their experiences during World War II.
*We also discussed other Holocaust novels. Two members thought Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky to be higher quality read.
*There was much discussion about the moral/ethical choices made by the characters.

Resources: http://kristinhannah.com/

http://www.jewishbookcouncil.org/book/the-nightingale

Kristin Hannah’s inspiration: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/10/18/world/europe/18jongh.html

Readalikes:

the-nightingale

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Lee Child

If you like Lee Child’s mix of fine writing, twisted plots, and relentless pacing, try these authors:

David Baldacci
James Lee Burke
Michael Connelly
Robert Crais
P.T. Deutermann
Barry Eisler
Vince Flynn
G.M. Ford
Stephen Hunter
Gregg Hurwitz
George Pelecanos
Matthew Reilly

read-a-like-child

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Sandra Brown

If you like Sandra Brown’s romantic suspense tales, filled with adventure and action of all kinds, try these authors:

Suzanne Brockmann
Catherine Coulter
Lisa Gardner
Julie Garwood
Heather Graham
Tami Hoag
Kay Hooper
Linda Howard
Iris Johansen
Jayne Ann Krentz
Elizabeth Lowell
Karen Robards

read-a-like-brown

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: Nevada Barr

If you like Nevada Barr’s brand of suspenseful mysteries with a strong sense of place, try these authors:

C.J. Box
Deborah Crombie
Sue Henry
Joseph Heywood
Anne Hillerman
Tony Hillerman
Skye Kathleen Moody
Marcia Muller
Jessica Speart
Dana Stabenow

read-a-like-barr

Read-a-Likes

Read-a-Likes: David Baldacci

If you like David Baldacci’s fast-paced, plot-driven thrillers, try these authors:

William Bernhardt
Dale Brown
Stephen J. Cannell
Nelson DeMille
Joseph Finder
Vince Flynn
John Grisham
James Grippando
Dennis Lehane
Steve Martini
Brad Meltzer
Kyle Mills
Lisa Scottoline
Robert K. Tanenbaum
Scott Turow

read-a-like-baldacci

Teen Scene

September Teen Reads

teenscene

Here at the Rolling Meadows Library Teen Scene, we mark our books with genre stickers made for us by our Special Services Department! This month I thought I would kick off with five great Historical Fiction books:
ep
Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell : This story reminds you of what it’s like to be young and in love. Bring on the 1980’s!
bt
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: This international best seller is set during 1939 in Nazi Germany with a whole country holding its breath to see what is going to happen.
wtetn
The Watch that Ends the Night by Allan Wolf: The setting is Sunday, April 14, 1912 aboard the Titanic. Two dozen different voices tell us what it was like to be on board.
lok
Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman: This book is the first in the Blood of Gods and Royals series. This one is about Alexander the Great.
bsog
Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys: As a family is pulled from their home in Lithuania, Lina buries her story in a jar, in the hope that it will be discovered and read!

 

Displays, Slideshows

September Displays

Every month, Reader’s Advisory puts out different displays in the area surrounding our desk.  For us, it’s a fun way to tie in the materials we love to the specific month or season!  Anything that is on the cubes can be checked out, just like anything else in the library!

For the month of September, there are several different exciting displays to choose from.

“Honor Those Who Serve: First Responders Appreciation Day,” located on the left book cube, is focuses on first responders in all types of media.  Police, firefighters, search and rescue teams, EMTs and paramedics and more, all are featured.  First Responders Appreciation Day is on September 27th.

“Murder and Mayhem in the Middle Ages,” located on the center book cube, is fiction and DVDs set in medieval times.  Medieval mysteries abound; give one a try!

“We’re #1!,” located on the CD display cube, is chart-topping music and greatest hits.

“Spotlight On: Hispanic Heritage Month,” located on our corner display, are books written by Hispanic authors or focusing on the Hispanic experience throughout history.  Check out the accompanying Billboard slideshow!

The fiction film wall contains “Movies So Bad They’re Good,” movies that were nominated for the prestigious Golden Raspberry awards.  The nonfiction film wall is “Make the Most of Yourself,” which features self-help, exercise, and other life-improving DVDs.

Check out the slideshow below for photos of each of these displays.
We encourage you to come in and check out these displays for yourself; you can always take something home!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.